Clapham takes the SKMSC by storm

25/Sep/2013 14:52

The 2013 National Finals of the U-19 Sanlam Kay Motsepe Schools Cup kicked off in Durban with a bang. Clapham College from Pretoria has been the team to watch as they have taken the tournament by storm, winning all their matches in the first day by huge margins.

Clapham is the school that educates the youngsters from the Mamelodi Sundowns Football Academy and they won their first game against FK Tijiane from Limpopo 9 – 1, then 6 – 0 against Rietvale from the Northern Cape ending the day with a 1 – 0 win against Freedom Park to top Group B.

Rhulani Mokwena, who coaches the side is pleased with how things a panning out at the King Zwelithini Stadium but admits that the success on the first day does not mean they have won the tournament as yet.

“I am pleased with the team’s performance, but we need to improve in every game and in this way we will continue to get results. There was no easy games on day one and by the third game we were tired.  The boys rested well and go back into day two’s action, playing every game as a final.”

On the same points as Clapham in Group B is Harmony from Virginia in the Free State.  Clapham topped the group on goal difference, 16 as opposed to 12.

Cloetesville from the Western Cape were leading Group A but lost to Rosina Sedibane from Gauteng to place them second.

Group C sees East High from Mpumalanga ahead with Benny’s Sports Academy in second place, despite their 9 – 0 win over Ndamase from the Eastern Cape.

The final l play-offs take place on Thursday culminating with the third/fourth play-off at 10am on Friday followed by performances by Naima Kay, Professor and Big-Nuz and then the final game.

RESULTS:  DAY 1 (24 September 2013)

1.            Welabasha 0   vs Cloetesville 1

Goal:  Regan Rhode

2.            Sibongumusa 0 vs Executive Academy 1

Goal:  Sive Klaushe

3.            Rosina Sedibane   1 v Mondale 0

Goal:  Thabo Mile

4.            Rietvale  0 vs Harmony 3

Goals:  Tsheo Mogorosi (2), Reginald Tsoela

5.            Freedom Park 0 vs Sebetwane 0

6.            FK Tijiane 1 vs Clapham 9

Goal:  FK:  Dumisane Shongwe (captain)

7.            Louis Botha 2 vs   Okiep 0

Goals:  Charlie Hlalele (2)

8.            Eric Nxumalo 1 vs East High 2

Goals:  EN:  Fumani Mathabela

EH: Siyabonga Sibiya, Muzi Thabatha

9.            Ndamase 0  vs Benny’s Care 9

Goals:  Matuka Kabota (2), Khuliso Mudau, Eethe Khaukanani (3), Lfentswe Mungadziwa, Alton Lesedi, own goal

10.          Mondale 2 vs Welabasha 1

Goals:  M: Gavin Saayman, Dillan Fransch

W: Siyabonga Mkhize

11.          Rosina Sedibane   1 vs  Sibongumusa 0

Goal:  Motsiri Moshoma

12.          Cloetesville 4 vs Executive Academy 1

Goals:  CL:  Antonio Lewis (2), Curvin  Williams, Jason Clayton (captain)

EA: Zolani <Malahla

13.          Clapham 6 vs Rietvale 0

Goals:  Percy Tau (2), Khayelihle Shozi (3), Motoro Monyai

14.          FK Tijiane 0 vs  Freedom park 0

15.          Harmony 3 vs Sebetwane 0

Goals:  Mpho Moepetsane, Abram Morake, Tshepiso Lobelo

16.          Benny’s Care 1 vs  Louis Botha 1

Goals:  LB: Freddie Hlalele

BC:  Khuliso Mudau

17.          Ndamase 0 vs Eric Nxumalo 1

Goal:  Fumani Mathebula

18.          Okiep 0 vs East High 3

Goals: EH:  Muzi Thabotha, Moffat Nkuna, Thembumenzi Ngomane

19.          Welabasha 0 vs  Executive Academy 1

Goal:  Siphiwe Giften

20.          Cloetesville 0 vs Rosina Sedibane 1

Goals:  Sifiso Nkosi

21.          Mondale 2 vs Sibongumusa 0

Goals:  Adrian Jaftha, Ricardo Vorster

22.          Rietvale  1 vs Sebetwane 1

Goals:  Riet:  Angelo Van Rooi

Seb: Itumeleng Mosikare

23.          Harmony 6 vs FK Tijiane 0

Goals:  Tiisetso Noosi, Molelekoa Motaung (2), Reginald Tsoela, Buti Mokele, Mpho Mosoang

24.          Freedom Park 0 vs Clapham 1

Own goal

Comments are closed.