Road to future champs

27/Mar/2014 16:05

Mamelodi Sundowns Under 17 team has shown a rich vein of form in making it through to the semi-finals of the 2014 Future Champions Gauteng International Tournament – scoring the highest number of goals – eight – and only conceding one. Lovers Malatsi remains joint top goal-scorer in the tournament with three goals to his name.

The tournament featured Brazilian club Atletico Mineiro, who won the tournament in 2010 and 2011, defending champions Mexican side Club Tijuana, China’s Shandong, Canada’s Toronto FC, Congolese Academy CESD La Djiri, English team Sunderland, American side USYSA Select, Aspire from Qatar, Indian team Royal Wahingdong, and Dutch side ADO Den Haag and local sides Mamelodi Sundowns, Supersport Tottenham Hotspur Academy, Jomo Cosmos and school team Sunward Park.

The matches were played at the Nike Football Training Centre in Pimville.

The first game of the tournament featured CESD La Djiri against Cosmos, won by the Congolese side. Then, in Group A, 2010 winners Shandong Luneng and Toronto drew before Mineiro slammed Supersport 5 – 2. In Group B K-Stars of Zambia draw 1-1 with ADO Den Haag and Club Tijuana squeezed past Sunward Park, the only schools team in this year’s competition. In Group C Qatar side Aspire Academy were awarded a walk-over when Nigerian team Saki West failed to arrive.

Royal Wahingdoh and USYSA Select, drew, and the best was saved for last when Sundowns dished out some superb football, with Lovers Malatsi scoring twice to register a 2 – 1 win over Sunderland.




Jomo Cosmos 0 CESD La Djiri 1 (Lionel Ondongo Opera)

K-Stars 1 (Patson Daka) ADO Den Haag 1 (Dennis van der Heijden)

Shandong Luneng 1 (Li Liu) Toronto FC 1 (Kevin Timachy)

Atletico Mineiro 5 (Adson, Cesar, Keven, Flavino, Joao Victor) SuperSport Tottenham Hotspur Academy 2 (Mthokozisi Mngadi, Thabelo Mulaudzi)

Club Tijuana 2 (Juan Rodriguez, Brandon Vazquez) Sunward Park 1 (Levy Berry)

Aspire Academy 3 Saki West 0 – walkover

Royal Wahingdoh 1 (Sushil Ahongshangbam) USYSA 1 (Connor DeFilippis)

Mamelodi Sundowns 2 (Lovers Malatsi 2) Sunderland 1 (Daniel Pybus)




Sunward Park 0 Aspire 0

K-Stars 2 (Enock Mwepu, Patson Daka) SuperSport TH Academy 0

Sunderland AFC 0 Royal Wahingdoh 0

Mamelodi Sundowns 3 (Thabang Chuene, Mpumelelo Hlatshwayo, Lovers Malatsi) USYSA 0

Club Tijuana 3 Saki West 0 – walkover

Atletico Mineiro 1 (Keven) ADO Den Haag 0

CESD La Djiri 2 (Michel Gafiny 2) Shangdong Luneng 1 (Pu Chen)

Toronto FC 1 (Luca Uccello) Jomo Cosmos 1 (Khomotso Marebane)




Jomo Cosmos 2 (Khomotso Marebane, Kagiso Moshotetsi) Shandong Luneng 1 (Tianci Bai)

Mamelodi Sundowns 3 (Notha Ngcobo, Mpumelelo Hlatshwayo, Tshepiso Mbongwa) Royal Wahingdoh 0

Sunderland AFC 1 (Andrew Nelson) USYSA 1 (Connor DeFilippis)

Club Tijuana 1 (Marco Vargas) Aspire Academy 1 (Marco Vargas og)

Sunward Park 3 Saki West 0 – walkover

Clube Atletico Mineiro 1 (Bruno) K-Stars 0

SuperSport TH Academy 2 (Athenkosi Dladla, Karabo Nkoana) ADO Den Haag 3 (Jan Verduijn 2, Dennis van der Heijden)

CESD La Djiri 1 (Yves Tchicaya) Toronto FC 2 (Luca Uccello 2)

3 Responses to Road to future champs

  1. Christian says:

    i would like to be raised in mamelodi sundowns towards my success

  2. innocent says:

    Where was the Sundowns U17 at the National Provincial tournament how is it the were not in the final or were they excluded.

  3. Andile Mboweni says:

    I would like 2 see my self success in the sky is the limitt..