Thrilling Tshwane Derby Tied

Mamelodi Sundowns and Supersport United played to a thrilling 1-1 draw in the Tshwane Derby at the Lucas Moripe Stadium on Saturday evening.

The Brazilians had a bright start in the Tshwane derby as Tau made a run on the right and delivered a cross which was collected by Ronwen Williams to deny Khama Billiat from close range in the eighth minute.

Against the run of play, Mnyamane scored for Matsatsantsa in the 11th minute when he beat Denis Onyango on his left corner after what looked like an offside.

With five minutes to go to the break, Sundowns had a good passage of play and forced Williams to produce another fine save to deny Themba Zwane from a header on the far post.

A minute later, Morgan Gould would see his effort going wide on the left of Onyango’s post — the defender was unmarked and couldn’t believe his miss.

Both sides made substitutions at the resumption of the second half, but Pitso Mosimane’s change nearly paid dividends when Sibusiso Vilakazi’s effort went wide in the 52nd minute.

Two minutes later, Gaston Sirino would see his attempt from a set piece hitting the woodwork and Williams had to produce a superb save to deny Sundowns from a glancing header on the rebound.

Towards the hour mark, SuperSport resorted to counter attacks and Evans Rusike came close to making it 2-0 when he beat Onyango, who was out of his line, but his effort hit the upright.

As The Brazilians continued to probe, United finally cracked when Hlompho Kekana picked out Tau from a set piece to beat two defenders and the forward slotted home to even the score.

With nine minutes to go, Onyango showed his class to deny Clayton Daniels from a point blank range from substitute Thuso Phala’s brilliant pass.

Despite all the attacks by the log leaders, United survived and settled for a point as Sundowns remain placed at the summit with 40 points from 22 matches.

Mamelodi Sundowns (0) 1 (Tau 77’)

SuperSport United (1) 1 (Mnyamane 11’)

Mamelodi Sundowns: Onyango, Langerman, Morena, Madisha, Nascimento, Manyisa, Billiat (Vilakazi 50’), Kekana, Sirino (Brockie 86’), Zwane, Tau

SuperSport United: Williams, Nhlapo, Kekana, Gould, Daniels, Boateng (Bhasera 46’), Letsholonyane, Furman, Mokoena, Mnyamane (Phala 64’), Rusike (Egwuekwe 90’)