Downs Quartet Named In Bafana Bafana Side

The South African National team coach Hugo Broos has named his 23-man squad for the upcoming  2022 World Cup Qualifiers against Ethiopia in October and four Mamelodi Sundowns players, Rushine De Reuck, Mosa Lebusa, Mothobi Mvala and Thabiso Kutumela will be representing Bafana Bafana when they face Ethiopia in back-to-back matches next month. The first match will be played on Saturday, 9 October in Ethiopia while the return leg will be played at FNB Stadium on Tuesday, 12 October 2021.

Lebusa scored his first goal of the season for The Brazilians, while the newly-signed forward Kutumela has been a sensation in Downs attack, opening his goal scoring account and assisting goals that have lead to wins in the DStv Premiership and MTN8. Rushine De Reuck and Mvala have been an integral cog in Masandawana’s defence and midfield respectively and will look to add their hard work and intelligence to the national team.

South Africa lead Group G standings with four points from two games played in the qualifiers, while their closest competitors Ghana and Ethiopia are one point less than Bafana Bafana, making the coming two fixtures against the East African rivals critical if Bafana Bafana are to qualify for Qatar 2022.

Game Details:

Bafana Bafana vs Ethiopia, Saturday 9 October, kick off is 14h30. The game will be broadcast live on SABC Sport Channel on DTT, Openview 124, SABC1 and SABC Radio stations.

Bafana Bafana vs Ethiopia, Tuesday 12 October, kick off is 17h30. The game will be broadcast live on SABC Sport Channel on DTT, Openview 124, SABC3 and SABC Radio stations.